Thread: Re: v2.0-rc1 not starting, runtime not building

Re: v2.0-rc1 not starting, runtime not building

From
Neel Patel
Date:
Hi,

I don't know the installed packages on your system but what I can help only - Download Qt 5.5 installers from "https://download.qt.io/archive/qt/" and install it on custom path ( e.g. /opt/Qt5.5" and use "qmake" installed in that directory during compilation and let us know result.

Thanks,
Neel Patel

On Thu, Sep 14, 2017 at 2:32 PM, Willy-Bas Loos <willybas@gmail.com> wrote:

On Thu, Sep 14, 2017 at 10:35 AM, Neel Patel <neel.patel@enterprisedb.com> wrote:
Surely, there is something wrong with your Qt installation.
Can you please try to install required "*-dev" packages for qt5 ?


Sure, i just don't know how to find out which ones. libraies.txt only says "QT".
So i have:
qtdeclarative5-dev:amd64
qtdeclarative5-dev-tools
libqt5opengl5-dev:amd64
libqt5webkit5-dev:amd64
pyqt5-dev
and now also pyqt5-dev-tools (doesn't change the outcome/output)

all in version 5.5.1

Interestingly, qmake only displays the QT warning when I add "DEFINES +=PGADMIN4_USE_WEBKIT"
To me, that implies that the wrong webkit is being used. I do have a few packages that are similar:

(pgadmin4) wbloos@wb:~/python-files/pgadmin4/runtime$ dpkg -l|grep webkit|cut -f 3 -d ' '
gir1.2-webkit2-4.0:amd64
libqt5webkit5:amd64
libqt5webkit5-dev:amd64
libqtwebkit4:amd64
libqtwebkit4:i386
libwebkit2gtk-4.0-37:amd64
libwebkit2gtk-4.0-37-gtk2:amd64
libwebkitgtk-3.0-0:amd64
libwebkitgtk-3.0-common

I'm not sure how they got there, i haven't tried what dependents they have. I could try removing them but i will probably run into some trouble.

Willy-Bas Loos

Re: v2.0-rc1 not starting, runtime not building

From
Willy-Bas Loos
Date:

On Thu, Sep 14, 2017 at 11:07 AM, Neel Patel <neel.patel@enterprisedb.com> wrote:
I don't know the installed packages on your system but what I can help only - Download Qt 5.5 installers from "https://download.qt.io/archive/qt/" and install it on custom path ( e.g. /opt/Qt5.5" and use "qmake" installed in that directory during compilation and let us know result.
OK, different errors now, but still the qt warning

(pgadmin4) wbloos@wb:~/python-files/pgadmin4/runtime$ /opt/Qt5.5.1/5.5/gcc_64/bin/qmake "DEFINES +=PGADMIN4_USE_WEBKIT"
Project MESSAGE: Building for QT5+...
Project MESSAGE: Forcing use of QWebKit...
Project MESSAGE:
Project MESSAGE: ************************************** WARNING **************************************
Project MESSAGE: * It is strongly advised that Qt 5.5.0 or later is used to build the pgAdmin runtime.
Project MESSAGE: *************************************************************************************
Project MESSAGE:
Project MESSAGE: Building for Linux/Mac...
Project MESSAGE: Using /home/wbloos/.virtualenvs/pgadmin4/bin/python-config
Project MESSAGE: Python3 detected.
(pgadmin4) wbloos@wb:~/python-files/pgadmin4/runtime$ make > make.log 2>&1

Attachment

Re: v2.0-rc1 not starting, runtime not building

From
Willy-Bas Loos
Date:
Any idea's about what's going wrong here?

On Thu, Sep 14, 2017 at 12:39 PM, Willy-Bas Loos <willybas@gmail.com> wrote:

On Thu, Sep 14, 2017 at 11:07 AM, Neel Patel <neel.patel@enterprisedb.com> wrote:
I don't know the installed packages on your system but what I can help only - Download Qt 5.5 installers from "https://download.qt.io/archive/qt/" and install it on custom path ( e.g. /opt/Qt5.5" and use "qmake" installed in that directory during compilation and let us know result.
OK, different errors now, but still the qt warning

(pgadmin4) wbloos@wb:~/python-files/pgadmin4/runtime$ /opt/Qt5.5.1/5.5/gcc_64/bin/qmake "DEFINES +=PGADMIN4_USE_WEBKIT"
Project MESSAGE: Building for QT5+...
Project MESSAGE: Forcing use of QWebKit...
Project MESSAGE:
Project MESSAGE: ************************************** WARNING **************************************
Project MESSAGE: * It is strongly advised that Qt 5.5.0 or later is used to build the pgAdmin runtime.
Project MESSAGE: *************************************************************************************
Project MESSAGE:
Project MESSAGE: Building for Linux/Mac...
Project MESSAGE: Using /home/wbloos/.virtualenvs/pgadmin4/bin/python-config
Project MESSAGE: Python3 detected.
(pgadmin4) wbloos@wb:~/python-files/pgadmin4/runtime$ make > make.log 2>&1




--
Willy-Bas Loos

Re: v2.0-rc1 not starting, runtime not building

From
Surinder Kumar
Date:
Hi Willy,

From the logs you sent, It seems there is some issue in Qt setup.

Here is the step by step instructions I had documented to setup pgAdmin4 in desktop mode on Ubuntu.
You also need to setup virtual environment as well.

I hope it helps.

Thanks,
Surinder




On Fri, Sep 15, 2017 at 7:34 PM, Willy-Bas Loos <willybas@gmail.com> wrote:
Any idea's about what's going wrong here?

On Thu, Sep 14, 2017 at 12:39 PM, Willy-Bas Loos <willybas@gmail.com> wrote:

On Thu, Sep 14, 2017 at 11:07 AM, Neel Patel <neel.patel@enterprisedb.com> wrote:
I don't know the installed packages on your system but what I can help only - Download Qt 5.5 installers from "https://download.qt.io/archive/qt/" and install it on custom path ( e.g. /opt/Qt5.5" and use "qmake" installed in that directory during compilation and let us know result.
OK, different errors now, but still the qt warning

(pgadmin4) wbloos@wb:~/python-files/pgadmin4/runtime$ /opt/Qt5.5.1/5.5/gcc_64/bin/qmake "DEFINES +=PGADMIN4_USE_WEBKIT"
Project MESSAGE: Building for QT5+...
Project MESSAGE: Forcing use of QWebKit...
Project MESSAGE:
Project MESSAGE: ************************************** WARNING **************************************
Project MESSAGE: * It is strongly advised that Qt 5.5.0 or later is used to build the pgAdmin runtime.
Project MESSAGE: *************************************************************************************
Project MESSAGE:
Project MESSAGE: Building for Linux/Mac...
Project MESSAGE: Using /home/wbloos/.virtualenvs/pgadmin4/bin/python-config
Project MESSAGE: Python3 detected.
(pgadmin4) wbloos@wb:~/python-files/pgadmin4/runtime$ make > make.log 2>&1




--
Willy-Bas Loos

Re: v2.0-rc1 not starting, runtime not building

From
Surinder Kumar
Date:

Please send email to pgadmin-hackers mailing list not personally


On Sep 21, 2017 9:38 PM, "Willy-Bas Loos" <willybas@gmail.com> wrote:
Hi,

I've tried your instructions but no success.
I added a full log of my actions.
Only i couldn't find the package opengl-dev
Could it be named libqt5opengl5-dev:amd64 ? If so then it is installed.

It would be great if we can get the runtime working.
please see the attached log.

cheers,

Willy-Bas


On Fri, Sep 15, 2017 at 6:11 PM, Willy-Bas Loos <willybas@gmail.com> wrote:


On Fri, Sep 15, 2017 at 4:19 PM, Surinder Kumar <surinder.kumar@enterprisedb.com> wrote:

From the logs you sent, It seems there is some issue in Qt setup.

It's a fresh install especially for this pupose.
The installation was a no brainer with a gui, just fill in the path and next, next. No errors.


Here is the step by step instructions I had documented to setup pgAdmin4 in desktop mode on Ubuntu.

That looks good, i'll try it and let you know.
thanks!

You also need to setup virtual environment as well.

I did.


--
Willy-Bas Loos



--
Willy-Bas Loos