57.1. Managing Active Session Profiling #

Profiling is managed separately for every individual instance.

57.1.1. Enabling and Disabling Profiling #

  1. Go to the active session history in one of the following ways:

    • Using the monitoring section:

      1. In the navigation panel, go to MonitoringActive sessions history.

      2. From the drop-down list in the top-right corner of the page, select an instance.

    • Using the corresponding section of an instance:

      1. In the navigation panel, go to InfrastructureInstances.

      2. Click the name of the instance.

      3. In the navigation panel, go to Active sessions history.

  2. Perform one of the following actions:

    • To enable profiling, in the top-right corner of the page, click .

    • To disable profiling, in the top-right corner of the page, click and confirm the operation.

      Important

      Disabling profiling clears the profile data and permanently deletes all collected information.

      When profiling is re-enabled, data collection starts anew.

57.1.2. Pausing and Resuming Profiling #

  1. Go to the active session history in one of the following ways:

    • Using the monitoring section:

      1. In the navigation panel, go to MonitoringActive sessions history.

      2. From the drop-down list in the top-right corner of the page, select an instance.

    • Using the corresponding section of an instance:

      1. In the navigation panel, go to InfrastructureInstances.

      2. Click the name of the instance.

      3. In the navigation panel, go to Active sessions history.

  2. Profiling for the instance must be enabled. Ensure that the Profiling enabled status is displayed in the top-left corner of the page.

  3. Perform one of the following actions:

    • To pause profiling, in the top-right corner of the page, click Pause and confirm the operation.

      The data already collected will remain available for viewing, but new data will not be collected.

    • To resume profiling, in the top-right corner of the page, click Resume.

      The data collection will continue.

57.1.3. Viewing Profile Details #

  1. Go to the active session history in one of the following ways:

    • Using the monitoring section:

      1. In the navigation panel, go to MonitoringActive sessions history.

      2. From the drop-down list in the top-right corner of the page, select an instance.

    • Using the corresponding section of an instance:

      1. In the navigation panel, go to InfrastructureInstances.

      2. Click the name of the instance.

      3. In the navigation panel, go to Active sessions history.

  2. Profiling for the instance must be enabled. Ensure that the Profiling enabled status is displayed in the top-left corner of the page.

  3. Click .

The window with detailed information about the profile will open. The following parameters are displayed:

  • Identifier.

  • Created at: The creation time.

  • Collection status: The collection status, depends on whether the collection is paused or not.

  • Collection interval.

  • Status: The profiling status.

  • First snapshot: The time when the first snapshot was taken.

  • Last snapshot: The time when the last snapshot was taken.

  • Number of snapshots.

  • Table size: The size of the profiling table in the repository database where the collected data is stored.

  • Data retention period: The retention period for the collected data.

    The background process automatically clears the profile by deleting the stale data for which the retention period expires. This helps to free up storage in the repository database.

    You can configure the data retention period for the profile.

  • Last profile data clearing: The last time when the profile was cleared.

    The profile can be cleared either automatically by the background process or manually.

57.1.4. Editing Profile Parameters #

If profiling is enabled, the profile parameters can be edited.

To edit the profile parameters:

  1. Go to the active session history in one of the following ways:

    • Using the monitoring section:

      1. In the navigation panel, go to MonitoringActive sessions history.

      2. From the drop-down list in the top-right corner of the page, select an instance.

    • Using the corresponding section of an instance:

      1. In the navigation panel, go to InfrastructureInstances.

      2. Click the name of the instance.

      3. In the navigation panel, go to Active sessions history.

  2. Profiling for the instance must be paused. Ensure that the Profiling is paused status is displayed in the top-left corner of the page.

  3. In the top-right corner of the page, click .

  4. Edit profile parameters:

    1. Snapshot interval, s: The interval between taking session snapshots, in seconds.

      The less interval is specified, the more snapshots are taken, and the more data is stored.

      Default value: 10 seconds.

    2. Data retention, days: The retention period for the collected data, in days.

      The background process automatically clears the profile by deleting the stale data for which the retention period expires. This helps to free up storage in the repository database.

      Also, it is possible to clean the stale data manually.

      Default value: 7 days.

  5. Click Save.

57.1.5. Clearing Profile Data #

You can clear the profile data manually, without waiting for the retention period to expire or the background process to delete stale data.

To clear the profile data:

  1. Go to the active session history in one of the following ways:

    • Using the monitoring section:

      1. In the navigation panel, go to MonitoringActive sessions history.

      2. From the drop-down list in the top-right corner of the page, select an instance.

    • Using the corresponding section of an instance:

      1. In the navigation panel, go to InfrastructureInstances.

      2. Click the name of the instance.

      3. In the navigation panel, go to Active sessions history.

  2. Profiling for the instance must be enabled. Ensure that the Profiling enabled status is displayed in the top-left corner of the page.

  3. In the top-right corner of the page, click .

  4. Specify the date.

    The profile data stored on or before this date will be deleted.

  5. Click Clear.