60.2. Editing Cluster Parameters #

You can change configuration parameters for all cluster nodes or for specific nodes only. The order in which changes are applied depends on the parameter type and the direction of the change:

  • For most parameters, changes are applied from the primary/leader node to standby/follower nodes.

  • For the following parameters, the order depends on whether the value is increased or decreased:

    • max_connections

    • max_worker_processes

    • max_wal_senders

    • max_prepared_transactions

    • max_locks_per_transaction

    • track_commit_timestamp

    For these parameters:

    • If the value is increased, changes are applied from standby/follower nodes to the primary/leader node.

    • If the value is decreased, changes are applied from the primary/leader node to standby/follower nodes.

Note

Currently, the following parameters cannot be edited:

  • For BiHA clusters, parameters that require a restart to apply (context = postmaster).

  • For all cluster types, parameters that are read‑only (context = internal).

To change configuration parameters of a cluster:

  1. In the navigation panel, go to InfrastructureClusters.

  2. Click the name of the cluster.

  3. In the navigation panel, go to Parameters.

  4. In the Value column, perform one of the following actions:

    • Enable or disable the parameter by selecting the appropriate option.

    • Select a new value from the drop-down list.

    • Specify a new value in the corresponding field.

    In the Scope column, the All cluster nodes toggle is enabled when all nodes have the same parameter value. If values differ across nodes, the toggle is disabled, and the node list shows the value for each individual node.

    To set different values for specific nodes, disable the toggle. The node list becomes available, with the primary/leader node at the top and the remaining nodes listed below.

    When the toggle is disabled, the value that was previously set for the entire cluster is used as the default for each node.

    Edit the value next to the required node. You can assign different values to the same parameter for different nodes within a single operation.

    When a parameter is edited, an icon for restoring the previous value is displayed next to it.

  5. (Optional) To reset all edited but not yet saved parameters, click Reset in the bottom-right corner of the page.

  6. After you change a value of the parameter that requires a node restart, the Automatically restart N cluster nodes to apply changes checkbox appears. Use it to control whether the nodes are restarted automatically after the configuration is applied.

    If the checkbox is not selected, the changes are saved without restarting the nodes. You must restart them manually for the changes to take effect.

  7. In the bottom-right corner of the page, click Save.

  8. Confirm the operation.

Important

Restarting cluster nodes terminates all active sessions on the affected nodes. The restart process may take a significant time due to the checkpoint execution. The restart duration depends on the configuration and the node load.

It is recommended to pay special attention to restarts, especially in production environments with strict DBMS downtime requirements.